Writing Tips: Novel Playlist and Update

Hey There!

I hope you have all had a magnificent week! I’m trying out yet another post format. Please let me know what you think of it!

-Writing Tips

This week I’ve really enjoyed listening to music while I write. For me, it helps to bring out the emotions I need to craft a good scene. A while ago, I stumbled across The Benefits of Creating a Playlist for Your Draft Novel by BlondeWriteMore that suggested making a playlist for writing. After following her advice, I can vouch for how much it helps to have something to listen to while drafting.

If you think creating a novel playlist is something you would like to try, there are several ways you can do it:

  1. You can create a playlist based on the tone or theme of your work.

(Romantic, Suspenseful, Rebellious, Feminist, Bad-ass, etc.)

  1. You can create a playlist based on your characters.

(A song per character, or a whole playlist for one character.)

  1. You can create a playlist for each part/scene/location of your work.

(Maybe a fast-paced song for a fight scene or a romantic ballad for some one-on-one time between your main character and their love interest.)

  1. You can free hand it and do either a mix of these ideas or, of course, come up with your very own personal combination.

When it comes to picking songs, probably the best way to go about it is to think about the songs that really get you in the moment. The ones you play the most on your favorite playlist. The artist you always turn up on the radio on your drive home after work. Perhaps that song you heard at a concert one time that you still wake up singing some mornings. Whatever the song may be, choose one that really speaks to you.

Then ask yourself the following questions:

Does this song fit any of my characters? (Optional: Can I see this character singing this in the shower?)

How about any of my scenes?

Does it bring up an emotion that will help me with my writing?

Does it help me picture a specific scene?

If you can answer yes to any of these, you’ve got yourself a song! Add it to your playlist and get ready for some super-inspired drafting sessions.

Have you tried any of these in the past? If so, I’d love to hear how it worked for you!

-Updates-

 Novel Update:

I finished chapter 19 last night and am working on transferring story information to a new notebook, as well as creating maps and other pages that will help me with future story construction. I’m SO excited to finish my first draft! 

Wattpad Update:

Chapter 12 is available on Wattpad and you can read it here. I tried my hand at some picture layering on Canva and am pretty happy with the way it came out, considering I haven’t ever done much with photograph manipulation.

Social Media Update:

I’ve made a facebook page for the blog! You can find it at: PrintedFeet

 -Goals-

Goals for the Upcoming Week:

 1.)   Finish Transferring Character Information

2.)   Finish Chapter 20 of Novel

3.)   Finish and Publish Chapter 13 of ‘Death of the Green Planet’ on Wattpad by next Sunday

What are your writing goals for this week? Please leave them in the comments!

♥Always♥

Go forward!

Be Strong.

God bless ❤

 

-Grace

2 thoughts on “Writing Tips: Novel Playlist and Update

  1. Rebekah Hutchins says:

    Love the post format, very organized! 🙂

    Also really like the idea of creating a writing playlist. I don’t write stories, but I think it’s a great idea to listen to music that connects with your writing voice or personality while writing. Great tips, thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

