My Writing Journey: Update

Hey There!

Here is my weekly update:) I hope you enjoy reading all I’ve learned this week in my writing journey.

Novel Update

Lately, I’ve been doing some research on the best way to go about writing my first draft. Nearly all of the resources I’ve read suggest writing all the way through your first draft without stopping to edit. Based on this information and advice from family and others, I’ve decided to follow this approach and write straight through my first draft. Once it is completed, I’ll edit for plot and pacing. This is quite different from what I had been doing, which was editing each chapter after I wrote it for spelling and content. Through my new approach, I’m writing much faster (Chapter 13!) and should finish my first draft ahead of schedule.

Wattpad Update

I’ve finished chapter 10 of 29! I plan to post it on Wattpad after I post this blog post. Please visit my profile PrintedFeet and check it out. I’d love to hear what you think of it!

What I’ve Learned

I’ve made a lot of progress on my book this week using the “write first, edit later” approach. I would suggest this approach to every new writer. Get all of your ideas down (no matter how jumbled they might be) and take the time to edit them later, once you’ve put everything down on paper.

Also, book writing can be very time-consuming. While pursuing your dream should be a priority, remember that family and loved ones come before your work-in-progress. They are real-life people and deserve your real-life love and attention. Take care not to neglect them while focusing on character and world-building.

In short, my advice would be:

Take the time, especially during Christmas, to spend with your family and loved ones. Write with abandon when you can, and edit ruthlessly later on. For now, it’s about getting your ideas on paper, in front of you. The editing can wait. Right now, use your gift!

Goals for the Upcoming Week:

  • Finish Chapter 13 of Novel
  • Publish Chapter 11 of ‘Death of the Green Planet on Wattpad’

 

What are your writing goals for this week? Please leave them in the comments!

♥Always♥

Go forward!
Be Strong.
God bless ❤
-Grace

Leave a Reply

